About Us

Back to Management Committee


Dr Sanjay Chittarajan Kuttan Executive Director

Singapore Maritime Institute

Dr Sanjay Chittarajan Kuttan is currently the Executive Director of the Singapore Maritime Institute, a recent appointment after more than 2 years as a Programme Director at the Energy Research Institute at the Nanyang Technological University (ERI@N) managing the Smart Multi Energy System project. Prior to that, Sanjay has held various positions across his career since 1994 both in private and public sector. His roles in the private sector range from line management (AP Technical Response Manager at ExxonMobil Asia Pacific, 10 years), business development (Business Development Manager at Mobil Oil Australia, 2 years); policy and program management (Energy Market Authority, 2 years) to management consulting (Petroleum Practice Expert/Engagement Manager at McKinsey & Company, 4 years) and business leadership (Managing Director, Clean Technology Centre and Country manager, DNVGL - Energy, 5 years). In management consulting, he was primarily involved in the oil and gas sector covering refining operational improvements, fuels and lubes retail strategy and corporate performance culture transformation. At DNVGL, which was prior to joining ERI@N, he was engaged in Smart grids and power systems, renewables and grid integration, energy efficiency, electricity markets and energy policy. Before that he was the Director of Industry Development at the Energy Market Authority a Statutory Board under the Ministry of Trade and Industry (MTI). There he was in charge of three key clean technology projects embarked by the Authority i.e., Intelligent Energy System Pilot (aka Smart Grid), the Electric Vehicle Test bed and the Pulau Ubin Renewable energy project; and represented EMA at the Energy Efficiency Program Office and the Clean Energy Program Office.

He also supported the Ministry of National Development on two working groups i.e., Punggol Eco Town, Sustainable Urban Living. He is currently a council member of the Sustainable Energy Association of Singapore (7 years) and advisory committee of Stamford Primary School (12 years). In 2019 he started a 2year term with MTI’s Pro-Enterprise Panel and 1year term on Disciplinary Standing Sub-Committee (DSC) of Singapore Athletics Association. He served 3 years as council member on the Singapore Chapter for the World Business Council for Sustainable Development until 2015 and 8 years on the advisory committee to the School of Electrical Engineering at the Ngee Ann Polytechnic until 2018.

Sanjay graduated from the National University of Singapore with doctorate in Pharmacology in 1993 after receiving this honours degree in Biochemistry from the same university in 1988. He was a research fellow at the Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology before joining the private sector at ExxonMobil in 1994.

In 2011, during his time with the Energy Market Authority, he was part of two different teams that received the MTI Award (Borderless) for the Implementation of Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure in Singapore Phase 1: Design and Development and MTI Award (Innovation) for the Development of TR25 EV Charging System Standard. He also received in 2012 and 2017 the Ministry of Education’s Service to Education Award for his service to Stamford Primary School, where he continues to serve. During his career, he was also selected by ExxonMobil in 2001 and DNVGL in 2013 to join the leadership programs conducted by INSEAD. In 2009, he was also selected to join the 9th Government Leadership Program following the nomination by the Energy Market Authority.

He has been married for 28 years, was born in Malaysia, and a Singaporean since 2007, with two sons, aged 23 and 18. His registered home address is 8 One Tree Hill, S248676.